More meadowhawks

After yesterday’s surprise discovery of Variegated Meadowhawk Sympetrum corruptum (Sympétrum bagarreur) at St-Lazare sand pits there was only one place I was going to go to today! I arrived earlier than usual (for odeing), hoping that I could find and photograph emergence. It was happening but I couldn’t even find any exuviae let alone live action.

I walked the area a few times before I saw my first teneral, after that another four appeared, one seemingly straight out of the box so to speak. That makes at least 11 individuals seen so far, all emerged from the lake and possibly all being the progeny of one wandering female (how did I miss her!). If more new insects continue to be seen it will give an interesting glimpse of the success rate of the species in terms of them getting to the flying stage – no mean feat when the lake is full of hungry fish and frogs.

Hopefully some of the meadowhawks will mature, mate and start a population just like several other species have in recent years although the Quebec winter will play a big part in that process.

Below are a few shots from today. A very recently emerged teneral and a shot of the area where all of the meadowhawks have been found. I checked many other areas today, nothing.

IMG_0879 IMG_0895 P1070815 P1070822

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Libellules, Odonata, Odonates du Quebec, Quebec Dragonflies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More meadowhawks

  1. Caroline says:

    Congratulations for theses great observations, and thank you for sharing!
    I have been looking for this species this summer, with no success… But I found skins of other Sympetrum. I found them surprisingly small (not much larger than my finger nails). All the ones I found were very low on vegetation (less than a foot over the ground). They are hard to find.

Leave a Reply

