Wandering stars

Glancing at my notebook for 2012 I saw that, in the first week of August I was photographing Brush-tipped Emerald Somatochlora walshii (Cordulie de Walsh) at the west end of St-Lazare sand pits. With no firm plan in mind for the morning I had a look and there they (or at least possibly their offspring) were again. I managed a couple of flight shots and had a good look through the bins at them but they successfully avoided the net as most odes I launch at seem to at the moment, the skill will come!

Below the shots of the emeralds from today and one from last year, perhaps I was more patient then or more likely just luckier.

IMG_1200 IMG_1201

 

 

 

IMG_0327I then wandered over to the spring fed pool and watched as Wandering Gliders Pantala flavescens (Pantale flavescente) got repeatedly bullied by the psychotic Twelve-spotted Skimmers Libellula pulchella (La gracieuse). The sun was out and the gliders kept doing a circuit, as is their wont and so I waved the big camera about and got a few reasonable flight shots of them too.

After the flying fun I walked the Variegated alley once again with zero results. I know of 17 Variegated Meadowhawk Sympetrum corruptum (Sympétrum bagarreur) individuals that emerged, the last being Friday 2-August. There will certainly have been more than that flew although, I can’t spend my entire life at the sand pits watching odes, even if it seems that I do…

Below the best glider efforts.

IMG_1102 IMG_1119 IMG_1126 IMG_1127 IMG_1128 IMG_1160

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Libellules, Odonata, Odonates du Quebec, Quebec Dragonflies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wandering stars

  1. Richard Yank says:

    Great shots of the glider, Mark.

  2. Caroline says:

    Thank you for posting such wonderful pictures.

Leave a Reply

