Not so elusive!

This evening a friend posted on Facebook that he’d had a Common Nighthawk fly over his house in Baie d’Urfé. ‘Needing’ it for the year in Quebéc, I went out into the garden to scan the skies as we get them in St-Lazare too and quite regularly in autumn. I looked up and latched on to a flying ode that was ‘fluttering’ around one of the pines, it was a clubtail and it settled!!! Grabbing the camera I took some pretty poor shots but the insect sat in its chosen spot, about seven meters height and on sunny perch.

Realizing that I could climb out of the window and stalk the thing from the roof I did just that and managed the shot below. It was an Elusive Clubtail Stylurus notatus (Gomphe marqué) as you can see and a life ode – superb. I then remembered that I was afraid of heights but hey, Elusive Clubtail in the garden.

IMG_1484

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Libellules, Odonata, Odonates du Quebec, Quebec Dragonflies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not so elusive!

  1. Ivana says:

    I think we see these when we go to Saint Calixte….and quite friendly coming close….

  2. What a story and what a find. I have enjoyed (and will continue) learning about dragonflies through your blog.

  3. Gillian says:

    Hi Mark,

    Yes, I have done that too – gone close to the edge of the Gatineau escarpment to get a lifer Edward’s Hairstreak, then remembered I am terrified of heights! Congratulations on your not-so-elusive Elusive Clubtail!

Leave a Reply

