Stuttering start

I know I’ve been neglecting these pages but I’ve not really been around for the best part of five weeks including June, perhaps our best month. I’m back in the field now, when the sun shines, and hope to make up for lost time a bit.

Although outside the scope of a QC ode site I’ll include these images of four species seen while in the UK in May for interest.

IMG_9549 (2)

Broad-bodied Chaser Libellula depressa Libellule Déprimée

IMG_9542 (2)

Common Blue Damselfly Enallagma Cyathigerum Agrion Porte-Coupe

IMG_9686 (2)

Variable Damselfly Coenagrion Pulchellum Agrion Joli

IMG_9679 (2)

Large Red Damselfly Pyrrhosoma nymphula Agrion jouvencelle

Back to QC, and I managed a short walk around St-Lazare sand pits (why is nobody surprised at the location?) seeing a few things of interest. The seasonal pool at the west end of the site is as high as I’ve seen it, with much of the rough meadow also holding water. Subsequently there were thousands of Sedge Sprite Nehalennia irene Déesse paisible. I was looking for Elfin Skimmer Nannothemis bella Nannothème d’elfe, River Bluet Enallagma anna l’agrion à longs cerques and Sphagnum Sprite Nehalennia gracilis Déesse gracieuse but no luck so far. The only thing I managed to photograph was a Delta-spotted Spiketail Cordulegaster diastatops Cordulégastre aux yeux séparés (below) but the day clouded over and so I left.

IMG_2654 (2) DSCN3972 (2) DSCN3970 (2)

Earlier in the week I had a brief look at the same site for Variegated Meadowhawk Sympetrum corruptum Sympétrum bagarreur and glimpsed an insect that may have been one. I’m hopeful that last year’s insects have left the basis of a colony but there is so much water and the landscape somewhat changed for now, that I think, if present, they could be anywhere on the works site.

We should all be aware that Painted Skimmer Libellula semifasciata La peinte is flying in increasing numbers to the south of our region, even as far north as Kingston and must be a distinct possibility in QC. If anyone sees one, please let us know.

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Libellules, Odonata. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

