Spiketail

I had a little look around the track to Barrington Lake, funnily enough near Barrington, today. I only got part way along as I came across a bit of ode habitat and spent time watching and netting a few. My netting skills are not great but I caught two Twin-spotted Spiketails, a Nova Scotia tick and always fun to see. The same stretch of river had Stream Cruisers, a Springtime Darner and a few bluets that kept their distance.

Netting odes is something that does no harm to them, sure they get a bit angry but but soon calm down and let you photograph them. Normally when you release them they fly off smartish but this one sat on my hand a few minutes allowing me to get better shots. They do land in favourite spots but you need fortune to chance upon them.

 DSCN3913 DSCN3895 DSCN3907 DSCN3887

Spiketail habitat.

Later I dropped into a quarry on Wireless Station Road where the quarry pool run-off provides habitat for common species such as this male 12-Spotted Skimmer. I also saw a number of teneral meadowhawk species and what was probably a Hudsonian (or, less likely, Canada) Whiteface. Several spreadwings were also on the wing too, probably northern but all females or tenerals so I’m not even trying to ID them.

DSCN3918

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Dragonflies in Nova Scota, Nova Scotia Odes, Odonata. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

