Black Saddlebags

As we lack a ready reference regarding the distribution and status of the odes found in Nova Scotia, leafing through Paulson’s Dragonflies and Damselflies of the East is the order of the day. The east is a big area and so it is only natural that the range maps will be a bit vague. It shows Black Saddlebags as a vagrant in NS by virtue of a couple of dots, one of them is probably on Sable Island by the look of it.

On 25th August 2015 I was birding on Stoney Island Beach Road, an area of Cape Sable Island, Shelburne County, when I noticed a medium/large ode flash past. It then hawked the road for ten minutes or so, never landing and never getting too close which meant I had to resort to plan B (or ode desperandum) which is manual focus in flight shooting. I got the following image which was enough to confirm the ID as Black Saddlebags.

IMG_1444 (2)_edited-1

On July 25th 2016 I had another Black Saddlebags on CSI, this time on The Hawk and again in flight only and not offering any photo ops this time. Black Saddlebags, along with Carolina Saddlebags are the only two of their type that we might expect in NS. To give you a better idea of what a Black Saddlebags looks like here are some on my archive shots from when I had a small and reliable colony at my old ode site, St-Lazare sand pits.

Bkksd5 Blk sdb1 IMG_2026

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Dragonflies in Nova Scota, Nova Scotia Odes, Odonata. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

