Winding Down

September already and the ode season is winding down somewhat. For me it is bird migration time, but also ode migration time and so the net stays in the car a bit longer in the hope of encountering a darner swarm. Generally all I’m seeing around Cape Sable Island now are meadowhawk species (Ruby/Cherry-faced), with a few Green Darners passing through. Recently I was on Sandy Cove Road near Halifax and there were lots of darners working the roadsides, unfortunately they all seemed to be one species, Shadow Darner.

It was pretty gloomy, fog had held all day and it was warm and muggy. The darners were systematically working a route, a beat, and so I placed myself in the way and kept swishing the net until I got one. Here is the in-hand shot showing the thoracic stripes, Shadow Darner is one of the easier ones to identify. I thoughts I’d also throw up an old plate I made with darner sides, I have a better one but can’t remember where I got it so, for now, you’ll have to make do with my home-made version.

p1090239 darner-plate

I don’t expect there to be too many more posts here this year, next year I plan to focus on a few species I have yet to see and to keep searching the local area (around CSI and the Tri-Counties) blogging what I find.

About mdinns15

I'm a birder, I also look at odes and leps, busy guy.
This entry was posted in Dragonflies in Nova Scota, Nova Scotia Odes, Odonata. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winding Down

  1. Rachel Hoogenbos says:

    Gorgeous picture!

Leave a Reply

